We Err When We Don’t “CAIRR”!

Friday, June 28th
12pm (PST), 1pm (MST), 2pm (CST), 3pm (EST)

Register Here

As more healthcare and public health entities incorporate social determinants of health screening processes into their workflow, there are emerging questions around HOW these screenings should be administered to avoid re-traumatization & further harm while engaging socially vulnerable communities. The Health Equity & Justice In Medicine (HEJIM) program & Equity, Justice, & Joy Lab at Wayne State University School of Medicine has developed the Cultural Humility/Compassion/Collaboration Awareness Identification Referral Relationship (C3AIRR) model as a work-in-progress to serve as an anti-racist & anti-oppression framework for engaging communities during social determinants of health screenings that center trustworthiness and trauma-informed care. The model has been well received by medical trainees, community health workers, and interprofessional community leaders, and future training modules are in development. The NCEAS session will provide an overview of the C3AIRR framework, walk through the  various domains, and invite participant feedback, as well as applications to relevant contexts.

Presented by:

Ijeoma Nnodim Opara, MD

Associate Professor, Internal Medicine-Pediatrics at Wayne State University School of Medicine & Wayne Health

Join our network and get current research and curriculum.

Sign up for our newsletter to get recent blog posts, research updates and upcoming events.